Tuesday, July 19, 2011

And another thing:

Going from Hollywoods obsession with money, it annoys me how modern horror movies are rated pg-13.  If we could pull off the good scares without an R rating, I would have no problems.  It annoys the hell out of me though, to see a seriel killer movie pg13 rated and when someone gets stabbed multiple times, you see one drop of blood. Really?  I've never harmed anyone nor plan on it, but I'm pretty sure if you get stabbed, you won't just trickle out a few drops of blood then all of a sudden fall over and die...it's gonna be messy.

One example was the remake of When A Stranger Calls a few years back.  The movie itself had some good scares, but it wasn't all that believable.  Another was Disturbia.  I actually LOVED that movie and it was pg13, but I felt like if we made it an R rating like many of the horror movies we grew up loving, it could have been better.  

It's all about getting those seats filled, so let's get the kiddies to go to the movies.  I'm sort of torn on this because from a teenage perspective, I had to sneak into R rated movies because I was underage, so having the options are great.  As an adult though, I am missing the movies I fell in love with growing up.  Seeing your first horror movie at a sleepover and covering your eyes in fear...you don't get that too often with modern horror movies.  Or we go one step too far and make it nothing but a gore/porn fest.  While there are people out there who enjoy it, and you guys have at it by all means, I don't get scared from those movies, just disgusted.  Hostel had no plot at all and I was bored out of my mind.  It was only blood and tits.  Not much emotional connection with the characters so you didn't really care if they died or not, and there wasn't much of a fight done until the end.  At least show these people getting caught more and them trying to escape.  It just showed them in rooms being cut up or whatnot.  That doesn't invoke that fear in me, just makes me want to get up and do something else.

Now back to the original message, I feel like we shelter ourselves too much. I don't see the harm in watching an R rated movie once you're mature enough to understand the subject matter and you know the difference between real life and movies.  If it is overly sexual, then I can understand I guess why parents wouldn't want their kids seeing that.  I don't feel like blood and cursing is all that bad though.  You will hear curse words throughout your daily life...doesn't matter where you go.  I don't think we should be overly violent, but we shouldn't shelter ourselves because someone doesn't want us to experience it.  Let us try it, if we like it cool, if not, then we move on.  Simple as that :)

No comments:

Post a Comment