Sunday, July 31, 2011

J.Shore

Allegedly cocaine was found at the Jersey Shore house...I personally am so utterly shocked I just don't know what to do with myself.  Those wholesome kids?? What is the world coming to these days?! LOL.  Is anyone really surprised?

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Jake's Day at the Beach

I think Jake is asking me where I am. "You, me, fun? Why aren't you here, Mark?"  Unfortunately, I didn't get the memo we were going to the beach.  Sorry, I'll be there next time! ;)

Kill me now

Apparently there's a reality show they're making about Soap Opera actors.  Really?  Do we honestly need this? Why are you people watching this mess? 

Gaga, We Miss You

Here's a recently released clip from '08 when Gaga was first entering the scene and performing on Jimmy Kimmel. 


Where did you go Gaga? I miss you.  This was before all the crazy stunts.  She was just having fun and performing without trying to make a statement.  Yes sometimes we need statements and she is using her 'power' to speak to the masses which is great, but it doesn't have to be 100% of the time.  Go back to your roots girl!  At least I'll always have the first CD/internet to remind me of why I fell in love with her.  Just Dance!




HBO

I've already expressed my love for HBO GO app.  I was reading that HBO is considering bringing Curb Your Enthusiasm back for a 9th season since this current season has it's highest ratings since season 4.  That makes me really really happy.  I also read that they weren't sure why it was doing so well now but hasn't in the past.  Here's my thought process on this - they launched the HBO GO app and it has all seasons of their programming so if you missed any, you can catch up.  I personally hate starting a show from the middle.  If I didn't see it from the beginning, I don't like to give it a chance (I know I'm crazy, but I can't be the only person out there like this).  I wonder if having the app is allowing more people to watch their shows and catch up? 

Whatever is happening, I sincerely hope it continues.  Curb is one of my absolute favorite 'new' shows.  That and 30 Rock are probably 2 of the funniest shows I have ever seen and with all the reality crap, we need to keep these shows from leaving us (I fear that if we don't do something, we will end up with nothing but 'reality' programming).  I laugh non-stop through them and really hope that other people will give it a try so they bring them both back for more!! :)

Rollercoaster of Doom

OMG I want to go to Japan and ride this monstrosity.  Watch the video.  It seems like a pretty standard thrill 'coaster at the beginning.  Wait until you get to the 1:30 point though...it looks pretttttty intense.  Where can I get my ticket??

 

Who's with me???

Britney Tribute

I love when artists show love for my Brit Brit.  Selema Gomez (lil cutie) did a medley at her concert to show her love for the Brit.  She isn't a dancer by any means but it's exciting that she's taking time to perform some of Brits hits! Her outfit pays homage, she does some of her moves...I love it!  You can tell she's just up there having a good time.  If I were a female pop star I'd so do the same thing :)

Watch! :

Vanessa Carlton

I actually forgot about Vanessa.  I had her original CD back in the day and enjoyed it but never went any further.  She just released her 4th CD (where have I been, or where has her advertising been? lol).  Anyway, she was on Chelsea the other night promoting her new CD and it's streaming on aol music in its entirety. 

Her and Michelle Branch paved the way for the modern singer/songwriter genre like Ingrid Michaelson and Sara Bareilles (sp?).  If you're bored, check out the cd here: AOL Music

Monday, July 25, 2011

The Gossip/Beth Ditto

So for a few years I've been listening to a group called The Gossip whose lead singer is Beth Ditto.  She came out a few years ago as a lady lover and I'm happy she put that out there.  She may be bi...I don't actually remember.  She performed a cover of Madonna's Vogue recently at a club wearing only a bra and panties.  While she sings rather well, I'm not sure I wanted to see all of that.  I am happy though that she has the self esteem and is out there showing that you don't have to be pencil thin to be talented.

Listen Up - Love Love this song



Heavy Cross


Now for the vogue performance...if you're interested :)

Snow White v.1 2011/2012

There are a few re-makes/re-imaginings of the classic Snow White tale coming up within the next year or two.  I just saw pictures from the Kristen Stewart version and the makeup/costume staff did a pretty good job.  With her 'amazing' acting, we will see how the movie fares when it comes out.  I don't hate her as an actress, I just feel that she doesn't have a huge range and that's okay.  A lot of actors don't have much of a diversity when it comes to acting, so they stay roughly playing the same characters until they are too old, then move onto their parents.  I wonder how long and how in depth her career will take her.

Charlize definitely looks wicked in this photo and I hope she brings the evil.  Needless to say, look at the pics.  I'm sort of looking forward to this one.
See Charlize Theron, Kristen Stewart in Snow White and the Huntsman
See Charlize Theron, Kristen Stewart in Snow White and the Huntsman

PS3 Update

The PS3 network is having a sale this week.  There's a game that is offered at 19.99 called Borderlands and it includes all of the DLC with the price.  I had never played the game before, but after reading some reviews for it and watching a few clips on youtube, I decided to give it a try.  It's actually really fun.  I've only had it a few days so far, but if you're bored and want to try a new (old) game, then give it a try.

Amy Winehouse

So this isn't new news to anyone I'm sure but I've had a busy few days and haven't been able to update.  We all know the trainwreck that Amy Winehouse was the past few years, but not many people truly appreciated her voice.  She had the voice of a 60's girl group but with modern updated music and lyrics.  She wasn't gorgeous, but musicians shouldn't have to be to be famous (although the world seems to beg to differ with me).  Here's a couple of my favorite songs from her.  You will be missed Amy; I hope you're at peace now.



This song makes me laugh...I love it

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Remix of the day

Just heard a remix of Brit's I Wanna Go.  It's not the absolute best, but it's pretty good and is a nice take on the hit if you've been listening to the cd since you got it on repeat like me haha.  Since I've been overplaying the songs, I've grown slightly tired of them (I said slightly hah), so I love when the remixes start coming out (I know I'm behind on this one) because it puts new life into the song.

Check it out :)

And another thing:

Going from Hollywoods obsession with money, it annoys me how modern horror movies are rated pg-13.  If we could pull off the good scares without an R rating, I would have no problems.  It annoys the hell out of me though, to see a seriel killer movie pg13 rated and when someone gets stabbed multiple times, you see one drop of blood. Really?  I've never harmed anyone nor plan on it, but I'm pretty sure if you get stabbed, you won't just trickle out a few drops of blood then all of a sudden fall over and die...it's gonna be messy.

One example was the remake of When A Stranger Calls a few years back.  The movie itself had some good scares, but it wasn't all that believable.  Another was Disturbia.  I actually LOVED that movie and it was pg13, but I felt like if we made it an R rating like many of the horror movies we grew up loving, it could have been better.  

It's all about getting those seats filled, so let's get the kiddies to go to the movies.  I'm sort of torn on this because from a teenage perspective, I had to sneak into R rated movies because I was underage, so having the options are great.  As an adult though, I am missing the movies I fell in love with growing up.  Seeing your first horror movie at a sleepover and covering your eyes in fear...you don't get that too often with modern horror movies.  Or we go one step too far and make it nothing but a gore/porn fest.  While there are people out there who enjoy it, and you guys have at it by all means, I don't get scared from those movies, just disgusted.  Hostel had no plot at all and I was bored out of my mind.  It was only blood and tits.  Not much emotional connection with the characters so you didn't really care if they died or not, and there wasn't much of a fight done until the end.  At least show these people getting caught more and them trying to escape.  It just showed them in rooms being cut up or whatnot.  That doesn't invoke that fear in me, just makes me want to get up and do something else.

Now back to the original message, I feel like we shelter ourselves too much. I don't see the harm in watching an R rated movie once you're mature enough to understand the subject matter and you know the difference between real life and movies.  If it is overly sexual, then I can understand I guess why parents wouldn't want their kids seeing that.  I don't feel like blood and cursing is all that bad though.  You will hear curse words throughout your daily life...doesn't matter where you go.  I don't think we should be overly violent, but we shouldn't shelter ourselves because someone doesn't want us to experience it.  Let us try it, if we like it cool, if not, then we move on.  Simple as that :)

Dark Tower

I haven't read the series of this book except the first one (which was extremely slow and tedious to get through), but the series has a large amount of followers who rave about it (minus the first book, it seems to get bad reviews and after reading it, I can see why.  I need to read the rest of them to base my judgement).

A really interesting idea that Hollywood was finally coming up with to develop this series has been stopped because the company thinks that it's too "risky", so instead, they're going forward with multiple sequels and remakes.  Again, wtf?

The idea behind how this series was going to be released was pretty original.  They were planning on doing 3 movies with a TV show in between filming each movie (2 seasons), that would tie it all together.  It was going to be with the same actors and everything.  I believe there are 10 books in the series, I may be mistaken and haven't looked that up so don't get crazy on me, but what a better way to get all of the information out without having to make a thousand movies or cut out so much detail that would take away from the story.  Directors and screenwriters aren't making any new stories because it's all been told before and are more worried about making the money than putting out something of good quality not knowing if it will be a huge blockbuster or a cult classic.  Honestly, cult classics are usually the ones that we watch over and over again and the "blockbusters" come and go.  I just wish that they would take risks more because in the end, they usually pay off.  Sometimes, not so much, but until you try, how will you know?  I guess that can be said in all things in life, but I'm speaking solely on the entertainment industry.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Sequels

Just read that Bad Boys 3 is officially a Go with Michael Bay.  Don't get me wrong, when I love a movie, I want more of it.  I want more of the characters, more of the story.  What else happened to them after I turned off the TV? I totally get our obsession with having sequels.  Plus it's proven that if you advertise it in the right way, people will see it.  I'm even looking forward to a few sequels (Bridesmaids being one of them...hurry up y'all, start working on it! lol).

I just wish that we could come up with different ideas instead of sequels or comic renditions. I love superhero movies (more now than I did growing up...never got into the comic book phase), I'm just starting to get over them.  Yes, someone with powers comes and saves earth.  I get it, and it's entertaining, but where's the newness?

Again, I love that we also re-make movies, however now that I'm growing up, the movies that are being re-made are movies that I grew up loving. I now understand why people get upset when they re-make a movie you grew up with.  I understand that it's to introduce an interesting story to modern society and again, I do enjoy it.  Part of me just wishes that they would do a better job at the re-make.  It's hard to pinpoint a specific thing wrong with all of the remakes and I could go on for hours talking about each one (mainly horror movies).  Anyway, my point is, I wish that you could come up with more original-ish ideas Hollywood!  Less re-makes and sequels (we've seen quite enough of Capt. Jack Sparrow. Please, move on).

Throwback Band of the Day

While scrolling through my iPod before taking Eddy for a walk, I was looking for something I hadn't heard in a while or something new, somewhat upbeat since it's the AM and I'm trying to wake up, but not too upbeat because it's too early for any dance music.  I came across Stroke 9's folder and started to listen to it again.  I remember what an amazing CD this was for me and remember falling in love with the band.  I never seemed to buy another CD from them and should look into their other music, but their "Nasty Little Thoughts" is fantastic.  Here's a few of my fav. songs by them:

Little Black Backpack:

Tail of the Sun:

Harry Potter

So many many many websites are talking about "The End".  I'm pretty sick of hearing about all of it actually, but I was reading an article on Huffington Post about what the series meant for this author and her brother.  It has definitely made me nostalgic.  I didn't get into the Harry Potter fanaticism that's around until the movies started coming out. I wasn't even a HUGE fan until around the 3rd movie.  I loved them, don't get me wrong, but I never felt the need to dive further into the series (probably since I was more grown up when they started coming out as movies and I hadn't really heard much about them as books - being in high school at the time).

The story has magic and mayhem in it, but it's more about the struggles of growing up (muggle or not, for you HP fans).  It was a place for us to escape for over a decade and it's sad to say that it's coming to an end.  While the movies and books will live on for us to experience again, there's nothing like that original exploration that you experience when you get into the series.  I am definitely having mixed emotions about this final film.  It is "The End" of an era.

If you've never gotten into the HP fanfare, I urge you to give it a chance.  ABC Family always does some sort of marathon.  DVR the movies so you can fast forward through the commercials, and really allow yourself to venture into their world.  You won't be disappointed.

LOL of the Day

So, I originally said you wouldn't find information about reality "stars" on here unless they were in a competition.  I lied.  I just read that Heidi Montag and Danielle Staub apparently have a TV show together and it is a hot mess (not in a good way).  It is called "Famous Food" however, people are calling it "Famous Flop".  I'd definitely agree.  I haven't seen it so I won't give toooooo much judgement, however, with the 2 of them, I don't see how it would be interesting unless they did what they do best and cause each other drama and fights.  What else are they good for?  :)

Update:

I would like to expound on my annoyance with our obsession with reality stars.  I hope that one day people will really understand that we are the ones paying these people to act up on TV.  We are allowing them to live without actually doing any real work besides starting drama and fights between the other 'stars' of the show and make thousands/millions per episode (yet we have to struggle day to day to pay our bills).  They act up and we "can't get enough" or "it's a trainwreck/can't change the channel/there's a marathon!".  One day I really realized how annoyed I am with this.  Why do we pay these people for being talentless?  It also trains our youth that if they don't really want to do anything with their lives, all they have to do is act immature and ridiculous, and they'll get their own TV show.  You got pregnant at 15? That's ok, MTV has a spot for you!  You're 48 now and divorced and have no skills because you've been a stay at home mom? That's ok, we have Real Housewives of the world...doesn't matter where you live, we'll film it!  You're extremely attractive, yet somehow you can't find a date? How about you pick between 10 different equally attractive people (minus the few 'uglies' we throw in for diversity)...it won't ever work out anyway, but what the hell, it's entertainment for us! You go to the beach for a summer and do nothing but drink, fight and fuck and now you have book/commercial deals that makes you thousands of dollars a pop!  At what point will we think that this behavior is enough?  And if this trend doesn't end, how can I get on that bandwagon and benefit from your hard work society?

TV used to be a place for us to escape our daily problems.  Now it's turned into a place for us to watch train-wrecks and say, "Well, at least with all of my issues, I'm not like (insert any reality star's name) and I have my shit together".  I honestly was one of these people until the past couple of months.  Really people??  Let's get it together. Educate your friends if this post meant anything to you.  If not, keep on enjoying your scripted "reality".  Just my thoughts.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Dev

I've been listening to Dev a little bit lately and I'm excited for her to become popular.  You know one song that got a lot of radio play and sampled her song without even knowing who she is (Like a G6 by Far East Movement).  The original song is much better in my opinion, but it got her name out there.  Here are a few of her songs that I love.

Bass Down Low:


Booty Bounce:


New release - Dance in the Dark:

Hbo go

Getting car inspection done right now. I have to say that the hbo go app for iPhone/others is amazing! It has all seasons of their programming and a ton of movies. Best thing about it is if you currently subscribe to hbo it's free! Need to kill 30 minutes? Watch an episode of entourage or curb your enthusiasm. Love it! Download it now! :)


- Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Funny clip of the day

I'm bringing this one back because no matter how much time passes, I can watch this video and get a good chuckle.  Skip to the 30 second mark to start the excitement.

I see dead farts

Jason Sudeikis is hilarious and he was on Chelsea last night.  So funny.

Chelsea Lately

Just watched the past few episodes of Chelsea Lately.  I have to say that show is probably my favorite 30 minutes of the day Monday - Thursday.  She keeps hinting that she wants to leave the show and do something else.  I would be extremely sad if that were to happen.  I do agree with her point of view about being sick and tired of hearing about celebrities and their personal lives.  We should be focused more about the work that they're doing than the scandals they are either getting caught doing, or setting themselves up so they would be caught.  Either way, it's annoying.  Now, if they get naked, I would still enjoy seeing the picture, just for my curiosity, but I don't need the entire world criticizing and judging them for taking a naked photo.  I'm pretty sure most of society has at some point in recent time with all of the technology, done the exact same thing.  Just because someone is in the limelight doesn't mean they aren't human beings.  We all make mistakes, they just have more disposable money and more people taking pictures of them constantly so we see all of their problems.  I can't imagine that. Not being able to just go out shopping without someone constantly stopping you or wanting your viewpoint on something random and then twisting your words.  So annoying.

Anyway, watch the clip of Jennifer Aniston on the 7/4/11 show.  It's funny to hear her read a story from a magazine that is obviously false.  It makes me wonder what gossip we read that isn't true, yet it's written so we believe it and then tell our friends, so they spread it too.  People always say, don't always believe what you read, yet on a whole, it seems we do.

Here's the clip...it's pretty funny, so watch it :)

Britney

My computer has been giving me issues for the past few days.  All of them are fixed now hopefully.

So earlier this week, I read on Perez that Britney won favorite album of the year.  She even beat out Gaga  That's my girl and she's back with a vengeance.  Femme Fatale is definitely my favorite that she's put out so far, my only concern is i wish that she would have put Scary on the US version.  I'm hoping that she will release it here in the US as a single because it's amazing, especially now that she finished her I Wanna Go video with a 'Thriller' reference at the end.  She could definitely transition that character into the Scary video.  That would be perfect!

Here's the video for I Wanna Go.  It's hilarious and I love that she's finally showing some of her personality instead of the robot-like appearances she was making at the beginning of this promo tour.  I also love that she can make fun of herself - notice the "Crossroads 2: Cross Harder" in the background haha.  After the video, listen to Scary.  It definitely has a "Thriller" vibe to it.  Do you think she should release this song and do a video with it also?



Here's Scary:

Summer Comedies

I'm feeling torn about the selection of movies out at the moment.  I have a love/hate relationship with summer movies....I love it because they usually have a wide assortment of the best movies this time of the year.  I hate it because that means I have to spend more money in a small amount of time if I want to see a movie before it leaves the theater haha.

I really want to see Bad Teacher and Horrible Bosses.  I love that more and more 'raunchy' (if you will) comedies are coming out and are more accepted within our society.  I don't find these movies to be all that raunchy, but if the public wants to put that label on it and then deem it ok, that's fine with me.

Bridesmaids was one of the funniest, if not funniest, movies I've ever seen.  If you haven't seen it, shame on you, get to a theater now! I will go again if you need someone to go with haha.  Melissa McCarthy is one of the standout performers in that movie and now she is rumored to be in 2 of Judd Apatows upcoming flicks.  She is going to be a side character in the Knocked Up sequel and also is in talks to be a star in another movie, but that isn't (for now) certain.  I love Judd Apatow's movies and I love Melissa, so I know both of these will be amazing.  Now if Kristin Wiig and Maya Rudolph were in more movies, I'd be in heaven.  I think Judd should start using these actors in more of his movies, much like he does with Seth Rogan, Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd, among others.

Watch Melissa on Ellen and the clip from Bridesmaids...So funny

Friday, July 1, 2011

Free Song of the Week

If you don't already know about this, you need to get on the bandwagon :)

Every week, iTunes gives away 2 free songs.  Sometimes these songs are great, sometimes not so great.  The free Discovery Download this week, I do actually enjoy so far.  I haven't really listened to it in full, but I usually download it anyway since it's free and then put it in a random mix to see if I would listen to it in full if it came on, or if I will skip it. I tend to do this a lot with CD's also.  I'll buy an artists CD, put it on as background music and figure out if I like it as a whole, or just select songs.  At first listen, a lot of times we dismiss something because it doesn't automatically appeal to us.  If we give things a try, sometimes they will surprise us.

Back to my point (got the ADD going haha), the free song this week is pretty decent.  It's called Wildfire by SBTRKT feat. Yukimi Nagano.  If you are feeling adventurous, download it, give it a few listens, and see if you like it also.

Transformers 3

Went with Michael to see Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon last night.  Growing up, I never really watched the cartoon or knew much about the transformers. I didn't really start to enjoy the series until the first movie came out a few years back.  I really enjoyed the first movie, saw the second, and like most of the population, thought it was crap.

I read an article on Huffington Post that talked about how this movie was what the fans have been waiting for this whole time.  It definitely was much better than the 2nd movie.  If you want to see more of a variety of transformer characters, go see this new one.  I will say that it is quite long (especially if you're seeing it at 11pm haha).  This one seemed to dive more into their 'race' and less into Sam's character, which was okay by me.  He still had a major storyline, but it didn't feel like it was his movie this time.

Anyway, I put my approval on it :)  It wasn't the best movie I've seen, but it was definitely entertaining.