Friday, September 2, 2011

VMA Recap

While I'm quite late on this post (I've been busy!), I wanted to mention a few things about the VMA's that excited me.

As everyone knows, Beyonce is preggers.  I was watching the performance, and while she's an amazing singer and performer, I wasn't a huge fan of the song she was singing.  I was even less of a fan of her choice of apparel she was wearing until I saw her open up the jacket to show her bump.  I'm not a huge fan of children but I think she waited long enough and will be an amazing mom..you know, cuz I know her and all lol.

The Amy Winehouse tribute was fantastic.  I loved the speech Russell gave about her.  She had problems from the get-go even before she became 'famous'.  Some of the most talented people have demons.  I am still saddened by her loss, but her music will live on.  I like that Bruno did Valerie, I just wish that a few more people were up there singing and did more of a medley of her songs instead of just the one.

Now for Britney!!  SOOOOO excited she won the first award of the night (that I tuned in for anyway).  I loved the tribute they did to her only it wasn't ANYTHING that I was expecting.  I was hoping for some actual singers to be up there showin their thang but what was performed was excellent either way.  My favorite moment was when they showed Brit in the audience and her eyes were watering.  You could tell how surreal and truly honored she was in that moment.  I also loved that Gaga tried to make out with Brit and she said no, I've already done that lol.  I laughed out loud at that one.

Gaga needs to get it together.  That's all I'm saying about that lol.

Overall I felt like it was a pretty good show, even without a host.

New Music Alert

If you happened to catch the VMA's and watched all of it, you heard a band perform called Young the Giant.  I enjoyed their sound on the VMA's and decided to check out their CD on Amazon (while I love iTunes, Amazon's cd's are usually cheaper and they aren't DRM protected so you can share it with your different computers without authorizing each one).

I've been listening to their CD non-stop for the past couple of days and I really enjoy it.  It's sort of a mix between Death Cab and Coldplay. I've read a few comments about people being upset that they are now becoming famous b/c they were on MTV.  I would think that people would be excited about them gaining momentum.  If they didn't, another CD may not happen.  I just hope with more recognition they don't change their sound too much.

Here's the song they performed on the VMA's: