Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Fright Night Update

So I saw the updated version of Fright Night yesterday and it was definitely the best update of an old movie that I've ever seen. It stayed close enough to the original but updated it for our times now without being cheesy, yet still maintained the camp of the 80s one..and it makes vampires scary again!!

I am a fan of the "good" vampire story (trueblood/twilight) but I definitely missed being scared by vampires. I grew up watching Lost Boys and Salems Lot. I think that Hollywood should start making the monsters scary again.

They better not do the same with zombies. I don't know if I can take watching a lonely girl fall in love with a misunderstood zombie.

Anyway, Colin Farell did an amazing job as Jerry the vampire (even had a cameo from the original Jerry). All of the actors were pretty great actually (McLovin made me chuckle a bit). I will definitely get behind more remakes if they do it right like this one.

If you were a fan of the original, you won't be disappointed..they kept a lot of scenes but it didn't feel like an exact copy. For example, Peter Vincent is a "Criss Angel" type of character in this one so it totally fits today's time.

If you didn't love the original, still see it because it's a fun thrill ride especially in 3-D. Ive never been a huge fan of 3-D but this one also did it justice. It was definitely worth the ticket upgrade.




- Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

WTF?

So I'm watching The Adjustment Bureau and the credits start rolling but I'm not really paying attention. I happen to look up as the screen is passing the Executive Producers names and at first glance I saw something I couldn't believe so I rewound it. Yeah, I didn't imagine it. Check out this name lol.


Isa Dick Hackett

I couldn't stop laughing for about 3 minutes. Like part of me wonders if it's an inside joke because most people don't watch movie credits, so who's gonna notice? The other part of me feels really bad for the person if it is real because I'm sure they didn't have an easy life lol.

Good movie though, watch it :)

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Homeland - Showtime

I've never been a fan of shows that are political or having to deal with terrorism/military, but this one looks intriguing.  The part that gets me the most is the tagline - "Watch carefully.  Listen closely. The only thing more dangerous than the lies is the truth."

Premiers on Showtime following Dexter Oct. 2! Looks interesting, plus I highly enjoy Claire Danes.




Ringer

Sarah Michelle Gellar is FINALLY coming back to TV! Her movie career didn't do so well (except for Cruel Intentions and a couple other's from the late 90's).  She belongs back on the television so I can get my weekly fix haha.

The show will be airing on the CW, but before you scoff, they are trying to appeal to an older audience.  She plays twin sisters who are involved in some kind of drama with murder/adultery/mayhem.  One "commits suicide" and the other one decides to become her since she has an amazing life - on the surface.  Watch the trailer below then check it out in September:




Zombie Books

Just bought World War Z (which is being made into a movie in 2012 starring Brad Pitt - very excited about this) and Day by Day Armageddon.

World War Z is about a journalist who travels the world to interview survivors of the zombie apocalypse and get their stories.  It's a very interesting read although I'm only 2 chapters into it.  It's written as if some of the previous historical events were zombie cover-ups.  It sounds like it could go in a really amazing direction or a really bad direction.  It got a ton of great reviews and Brad P is set to star, so I'm excited to see where it goes.

Now, Day by Day Armageddon so far is fantastic! It's written by J.L. Bourne in a journal style.  The main character is in the military so he knows a few tricks to survive by. The most creepy thing for me is that it starts off in San Antonio.  He meets a new neighbor named John after the terror starts to happen.  The point in the book I'm at now, they are driving through San Marcos on their way to Austin.  It's weird reading about my city in a zombie book. I know it's not real but it makes it feel close to home haha. I guess all the people living in New York and other large cities always portrayed in film always have this feeling.

Check it out here! :)


The cover art is not all that amazing and it would normally make me pass it up if I just saw it on a shelf.  Looks too cartoonish and not what I would have chosen if I wrote it.  However, I did not write it so I don't get that option lol.

If you want a quick read that will give you some chills, this is a good entry so far.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Zombies Still Roamin' the Screens

The new Resident Evil film starts shooting in October and I'm real excite!  Hopefully this one will be along the lines of the 1st or 3rd and not so much the 2nd...the 4th was better than 2 but not up to par as 1 and 3 lol.  I'm sure it'll be about an hour and a half of mindless fun regardless to fill my zombie fix :)

Also in October, Walking Dead season 2 should start back up.  I'm REALLY excited about that! If you missed the first season on AMC check it out.  It's only 6 episodes long so won't take any time to catch up.  I love that there's finally a TV show dedicated to zombies.  We've had most other monsters on tv, it's about time the flesh-eatin', moan-makin peeps get their shot too.While the show is about zombies, it's about a group of people trying to survive and the drama that unfolds in their camp.  The men are nice to look at and it does have some good creep out moments. Starts out with a guy waking up in a hospital with the zombie takeover having already taken place (not original, but still good and creepy). He's looking for his wife and son and there's all sorts of twists haha.  Watch it! :)

Season 1 Trailer:



Season 2!!!! Looks amazing:






Tuesday, August 9, 2011

New Music

Last summer a song was released called You and I by Medina.  She is Dutch but just signed a contract back in January to release a US Album.  I fell in LOVE with her voice last year and a couple of other songs have come out of hers since then.

My new current fav is Gutter:



Here's You and I - my first Medina love :) Great breakup/feeling good song



One more that I just discovered today also called Addiction:



I hope she comes out with a kickass CD but it needs to sound like the songs I have here.  I found a few that sound extremely 'US Pop'...over-produced and all sounds the same.  I hope she doesn't go this route but she hasn't made a name for herself yet.  We will see what happens. :)